top of page
Search

Architecture Students And Mental Health

Updated: Dec 24, 2020





The Hard Truth


Architecture is often portrayed as an extravagant profession. But not many know that this glittery world of beautiful structures has a side that is invisible to society. A 2016 Architect’s Journal Survey threw a bright light on this by uncovering that one in four architecture students has suffered from mental health issues. Sadly, there was an increase in rate to one in three when the survey got conducted again in 2018.


Being an architect myself writing about this topic is nerve-wracking as I have been a victim of mental illness too. As we enter the world of architecture we see 'Suffering is a necessity' insidiously imprinted everywhere with a warning being echoed “if you can’t do it, then architecture isn’t for you.” This is the foundation of the deteriorating mental health of architecture students.


Mental Illness has always been an out of syllabus topic which is critical and unfrequented & that no faculty will ever teach about, well, not mostly (sigh). It has pulled many to fall deep, ending up with suicidal thoughts as well. Yes, this is that withering. Above all, many people don’t even know they are suffering from this issue. This is chiefly because long working hours don’t allow them to halt for a second and realize it.





The Enlightenment


My first encounter was in my 2nd year of bachelors where I saw my close friend slowly deteriorating mentally and physically burn out. Volatile workload, no deserved appreciation and living away from home resulted in accumulative pressure. Ultimately, my talented friend left architecture as with zero sleep and a devastating state of mind, she didn’t get time to recover.


I was standing firm until I reached the edge of a cliff and could feel the appalling depth. Constant de-motivation, sexism (apart from no sleep students still have to face this crap too), mental harassment, and unwanted negativity pushed me to a point where I got surrounded by anxiety along with panic attacks. Due to this, I was numb for days still trying to manage academics and life.


Recalling my 6th semester, that acted as a turning point, where I could not hold it in and broke down. Realized soon enough that this constant antagonism from umpteen reasons is hindering my growth as an architect. The joy I once had while designing started to fade away and this eventually urged me to step up.


The Insight


We always give importance to the psychology of society while designing a space. However, this was the first time when I started to study the mental health of an architect. The darkness behind the eye-catching display of this career is overwhelming. We often study how architecture affects the human mind and how the design speaks to the world. It’s called 'Social Health'. It nowhere ignites any sensitivity about an architect’s mental health.


Most of you guys reading this might be adjusting to the fact how every one of us has gone through this obstacle at some point in our journeys. Some of us thrived over it and some are still fighting. I put myself in the ‘Still Fighting’ list. But during this expedition, I not only tried to help myself but took along my friends who were suffering from the same.


“I aim to help as many as I can” was the aim when I took out my notebook and pen to scribble about mental health in my line of work. That being said, mental illness is not confined to this particular occupation alone, so the awareness should be circulated to almost every inch of the society.





The struggle between Architecture Students and Mental Health


You must all be thinking, okay we are now aware of the issue but how to tackle it. Right? I have talked in detail about ways to improve mental health in my other post. You have come so far in this story, go check that out too.

To give an overview, I am writing down 5 of the many ways one can do to fight against it:
1. Accept

If you’re not accepting and trying to normalize it, nothing can ever help you. So accept my friend.


2. Talk

You need to speak up for your well-being and your profession.


3. Write

If you can’t talk, you can always write about it. This will take you further on battling with the struggle you just accepted.


4. Taking help won’t hurt

Taking professional help is one of the important and underrated aspects. If you find it hard to do this alone, seek professional help.


5. Take a break

No matter how long you take the break, you should learn the art of taking a break. Not only will this help in your mental health but your productivity too.

Stand your ground


20 ways to improve your mental health give light on more ways that can help many people. These are all that I have done for myself and learned from people who successfully thrived over this. I love architecture, and I had to fight for my passion and my happiness. You can fight this beatable issue and can also help others around you, if tackled well, you can come out of it as a warrior.


Share your thoughts on the mental health of architecture students and additional ways that you followed which helped you to triumph over this issue. Pour your heart in the comment section about the stories and instances of your lives to inspire others. Also, share this post with your family and friends who you think can benefit from this. Let them know, they CAN outshine this problem!


About the Author: Brewed Ink is the brainchild of Ar. Tanya and shares her love for writing amongst the other passions she is crazy about.

Go check out her blog for some more reads!

84 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page